The Hottest Summer Must-Read: The Darling Rebels

Waiting for Edward in the meadow…

At the age of 21, Arcadia University graduate Siobhan Nichols has already become the published author of your next summer must read book, The Darling Rebels.

In this fun interview, I asked Siobhan everything from becoming the next J.K. Rowling to advice for aspiring writers.

Just who is Siobhan Nichols?
Siobhan Nichols is the perfect mix of California girl and Midwestern girl-next-door. She became a published poet at age nine and a published novelist at age 20, but she has a hard time writing summaries of herself. She can make you cry your eyes out at her twisted-plot stories, but she’s a sweetheart in real life, honest. Fresh out of university, she’s trying to answer that timeless question, “What do you do with a B.A. in English?” She’s got a penchant for Sherlock Holmes, peppermint hot chocolate, and slow-dancing. She idolizes J.K. Rowling, John Green, and J.M. Barrie. She plans on taking the world by storm, so watch out, because after living in the U.K., she knows a thing or two about rain.

Love Twenty: Describe The Darling Rebels in five words.

Siobhan Nichols: Historical, heart-breaking, hot, young, romance

Love20: Are you the next J.K. Rowling or Stephenie Meyer?

SN: I aspire to be the next J.K. Rowling, but I’ll NEVER touch that woman’s talent! I worship her.

Love20: What Darling Rebels character are you most like?

SN: Well, each of the characters have a little bit of me in them, but at this stage in my life, I think I’m most like Adam. I’m a rule-breaker, incredibly persuasive, but I’ve got a good heart and am fiercely protective of those closest to me.

Love20: If the book was made into a TV show or movie, who would you have play your characters?

SN: (You mean) aka THE DREAM? Movie makers don’t seem to listen to the authors or fans when it comes to casting movies, so I doubt who I picture in my head matters at all. Besides that, by the time my book becomes famous, everyone I want will be too old to play 17-year-olds. BUT my dream cast for my four main characters are Kristen Stewart as Charlotte, Selena Gomez as Lucy, William Moseley (pictured, on left) as Adam, and Ben Barnes (pictured, on right) for Jack.

Love20: Why should we read your book?

SN: Because I can make grown adults cry like babies, and make you feel like you are the characters or that they’re your best friends.

Love20: You have been named the youngest author of the Diversion Press family. What’s it like being a young author?

SN: It’s great! I like thinking of myself as the baby of the Diversion Press family. It’s comforting to know that I can accomplish something at such a young age, because it means I’ve got a long road of success ahead of me! I know that sounds conceited, but if I don’t believe in myself, who will?

Love 20: Oddest writer’s block cure/advice for writers?

SN: Okay, confession time. When I get writer’s block, I usually tear my hair out and just stare at the blank page on the computer screen and feel like a failure. I even blog about my failure and how much I suck; luckily, someone always comes to smack me out of it! I have learned, however, that a great cure is to write about everything. Think Harriet the Spy and take notes on everything you see, hear, etc. How does that chocolate cake taste? Write about it. What does that music sound like? Write about it. Copy down funny conversations that you have with your friends. It will keep you writing and you never know what will spark an idea for a scene. Also, watch a bunch of TV shows and movies, and make special note of the characters’ facial expressions and expand on them. That’s one of my absolute favorite things to do as a writer. A picture’s worth 1,000 words, right?

Love20: What inspires you?

SN: Beautiful things and people, love, trials and tribulations, summertime, journeys of self-discovery, insurmountable odds, that “aha!” moment, chivalry and romantic gestures, kindness, and the bonds between family members.

Love20: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

SN: If everything goes the way that I’ve planned it, I’ll be working for my alma mater’s study abroad office in London, encouraging students to take a better look at the world around them. I’ll be rubbing shoulders with people in different industries that I love and admire. I’ll have a nice, cozy flat and a cute boyfriend who treats me like a princess, and I’ll be on my third book (already pegged as a bestseller before it’s even come out). It is very important to have dreams.

For more on Siobhan Nichols or The Darling Rebels check out Siobhan’s website http://www.siobhannichols.com/.

♥AUTHOR: COURTNEY LEIVA

This entry was posted in COURTNEYL, FUN. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

