Surviving Long-Distance Relationships

Love from all over the globe.

We’ve all heard the phrase ‘You can’t help who you fall in love with.’ So what if the person you’ve fallen for lives two hours away, in a different state, or even a different country? Long distance relationships (I shall call them LDR for short!) are hardly easy, and more than often the stress and strain of being so far apart from your loved one means that quite a few long distance love affairs don’t last too long.

I’ve been in an LDR for over two years now, and it’s been full of amazing highs and heart-breaking lows. But along the way I’ve learned so many lessons and tips that I want to share with all you lovelies who live miles apart from your lover – it’s really not as bad as you think!

#1: IGNORE THE HATERS: I’ve found that people are very quick to comment on my LDR. I’ve heard everything from ‘you’re young, why are you wasting your time?’ to ‘if I were you, I’d have cheated by now.’ At first these comments really grated on me, but now I’ve leared to take them with a pinch of salt. When it comes down to it, it really does not matter what others think; the most important thing is your happiness. I’m a firm believer in love knowing no boundaries; regardless of how far apart you live from your boyfriend or girlfriend, if you love each other it will work. Yes, it will be hard, but it will all be worth it in the end. So ignore the critics and remember it’s not about them, it’s about you and your partner.
#2: KEEP BUSY: This one is key to surviving an LDR. The worst possible thing you can do is be constantly miserable and upset about your absent boyfriend. Crying and wallowing is not going to make your situation any easier; it’s just going to make it a million times harder, and it will start to annoy those around you. Take up a new hobby, spend loads of time with your girlfriends, and set out to conquer something you’ve always wanted to achieve. Not only will this make the time fly, you’ll become a much more interesting person with loads of new things to talk about.
#3: MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR TIME TOGETHER: I’m not sure about you, but I always find when my boyfriend and I do get to spend time together, we end up arguing about really silly, stupid little things. I think it’s some sort of reaction to actually seeing him! It’s hard to go from being used to not having him around, and then suddenly have him around 24/7; adjusting to his return can be a bit of a nightmare. But I’m starting to realize that making the most out of every moment together is vital, as creating those happy memories are so vital in getting you through the time you spend apart.

Plan loads of fun things to do together; organize date nights, cook dinner together, and make sure the time you have together is filled with lots of new adventures. The good times that you share are so important in that they remind you of how wonderful you are together when you have to be apart. They will motivate you to overcome the next separation hurdle, and they will provide everlasting memories which you will definitely cherish forever.

#4: CONSIDER THE GOOD SIDES OF A LDR: I bet you’re thinking ‘what good sides?!’ Honestly, there are some really great aspects to being in a relationship with someone who isn’t around all the time. You can leave your stuff lying around without having him moaning at you for being too messy. You can watch what you want on TV. You can slob about in a tracksuit or your pajamas without worrying what you look like. You don’t have to share your essential wardrobe space with him. Plus, you won’t be one of those couples who spend all their time together and become totally defined by each other!
Long distance relationships are difficult – it’s as simple as that. But by keeping busy and filling your life with the things you enjoy and the people you love, LDR’s can become a little bit easier. Remember, life is short. You only live once, so don’t spend your time wallowing about your absent lover; enjoy life, with or without your partner by your side, and embrace everything that it has to offer!
♥AUTHOR: KATIE MOSSES
This entry was posted in KATIEM, LOVE. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surviving Long-Distance Relationships

  1. Lauren says:

    I love this piece! My boyfriend and I started our relationship (we've been together for 2.5 years now) as I was leaving to study abroad in London. Everyone said we were NUTS and kept telling me I was going to cheat, be miserable, etc. Turns out it was the best decision I made! We had to work really hard to make it work, but it was so worth it. I would have been mad if I let a little distance break us up. Thanks for writing this and I can definitely say LDRs can suck but are worth it and not at all impossible (with the right person)!

Leave a Reply

