I Tried It: Sally Hansen Nail Polish Strips

$9 for a salon manicure? Yes, please!

Do you find yourself adding yet another coat of polish to your chipped nails every few days? Or, even worse, going bare because you can’t maintain a colorful polish? Instead of shelling out the big bucks for a manicure, pop into a drugstore and pick up a box of Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips!

You’ve probably been seeing them advertised in magazines for months—I know I have. Yet the over-advertising (think Proactive ads) caused me to doubt if they actually worked, silly I know. Nevertheless, when my first paycheck came last week, I figured that if there was ever going to be a better time to try something like this, why not now when I have money to burn?
Salon Effects
Sally Hansen offers 24 options ranging from bright neon colors to glitters to prints like lace and houndstooth (yes, I’m serious, houndstooth). I chose “Frock Star,” a multi-colored glitter polish. Inside the box I found a set of instructions, a mini-nail-file, a wooden cuticle-stick, and two sealed packages of nail polish strips.

Prepping was straightforward—swipe your nails with polish remover, push back your cuticles, and finally file and buff your nails to perfection. Then, it was time for the polish strips. It’s rather easy: just choose the strip that looks like it would fit your specific nail, peel off the plastic and backing, then place it on your nail and smooth the edges down. Finally, you file away the excess polish and there you go, salon-style manicure in no time (or price–they’re only $9) at all!

However, easy it is, there are still some things to watch out for when using this product. Primarily, the strips have an annoying habit of clinging to the plastic overlay in a way that when you try to remove the overlay sometimes the strip tears. This happened to me a few times, so I ended up using strips that were too narrow for the nail I was putting it on. Also, make sure you don’t tear away at the excess polish instead of filing; again, I did this in a moment of impatience and, next thing I knew, I’d torn off part of the polish on my nail. Whoops! So learn from my mistakes and make sure to take your time and follow the directions, and you should have stunning results!
Beyond my few hiccups when applying, I have had my oh-so-sparkly manicure for a week now, and it’s holding up surprisingly well. I’m a girl who finds it hard to keep her nails perfectly polished for more than a few days at a time, so this is something quite wonderful. The only sign of wear has been at the tip of my nails, but it is hardly noticeable—I guess they really do last for ten days after all! Overall, I think that Sally Hansen’s Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips are a great product and would definitely use them again!

Would you ever try nail polish strips?

♥AUTHOR: GRACIE FRIEND

This entry was posted in BEAUTY, GRACIEF. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Tried It: Sally Hansen Nail Polish Strips

  1. ANDREA says:

    This post has been removed by the author.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I really wanna try these! Gracie, your sorority sister Hannah Werthan is my roommate and friend at NYU this summer. Small world! I've told her she should blog for Love Twenty, so far no such luck though. Andrea W.

  3. Lauren says:

    I want SO BADLY to love these but they were just not happening for me! Like you said, the strips stuck to the plastic and got all foldy and gross. They also just didn't seem to fit my nail properly. They were either too wide or too thin. Boo. After reading this article, I might try them again though! Thanks for reviewing them!

  4. Anonymous says:

    What a great article! I've been a fan of these for ages it seems, and have noticed that even when it doesn't turn out perfectly perfect no one cares or comments, but are instead wild about the patterns!

  5. Anonymous says:

    I have always wanted to try these, but wondered if the price was worth it!

    Great article!!

Leave a Reply

