How to Make It After Graduation

Creative, much? We love it!

It’s a few months after graduation and you’re still looking for your ultimate dream job? Although the search might be hard and long, take some advice from Graphic Designer Brittany Lauren. Brittany graduated from Ramapo College (N.J.) in 2008 and created her own design studio in New Jersey short after.

Designing is something Brittany always knew that she wanted to do at a young age.

“I have a passion for design and I love to create. My inspiration board is nature-inspired with vibrant colors and simple designs. I believe in keeping things short, clean, and simple. I’m obsessed with clean, crisp designs.”

“It started when I was young and got my first box on crayons. I’ve always loved to create. Taking classes in college allowed me to explore different areas of design. I started out designing websites but my heart was really in print. Websites come and go but a print can be timeless,” Lauren says.

After college, Brittany, like most of us graduated at a time of a very weak economy. However, keeping hold of her dreams, Lauren became very proactive of her job search before graduation.

“It was my last semester and I started sending out my resume early before I graduated. An advertising firm took interest in me and I interned during that semester in hopes they would hire me. They took a chance with me and I’m glad I started out somewhere to get my feet wet even though it wasn’t my dream job.”

“After graduating in 2008 and working in the advertising field, I searched for my own creative outlet and became obsessed with paper goods. From there, I knew I wanted to branch out and do my own thing. I think I’ve always had the entrepreneur spirit in me since I was little,” she adds.

However, Lauren stresses that you should always follow your passion.

“I’ve seen a surge in entrepreneurs who left other industries to pursue their own projects when they couldn’t find work. I’ve had the opportunity to work with so many passionate people who wouldn’t have necessarily left their 9 to 5 job in a different economy.”

Soaking up the most experience you can, either by interning or freelancing, is also one of Lauren’s biggest tips.

“Freelance at home or intern at a company! Its important to always keep your portfolio updated and fresh. Don’t wait for a company to hire you — find clients on your own in the meantime. You might even enjoy freelancing and ditching the 9-5 cubicle life. Explore different areas and find your niche.”

“I like to welcome challenges but sometimes things happen that make you want to pull your hair out. Network with other professionals in your field. They are more likely to share their mistakes and experiences so you can learn from them and also be able to relate in moments of frustration,” Lauren adds.

Most of all, its important to follow your dreams.

“Keep moving forward. Don’t fall off your bike. You’ll never know what amazing opportunities will happen if you live outside your comfort zone. Open some doors that come your way and try. “Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving” – Albert Einstein

For more on Brittany Lauren, visit http://brittanylaurendesign.blogspot.com/ or follow her on Twitter.

♥AUTHOR: COURTNEY LEIVA

This entry was posted in COURTNEYL, LIFE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

