Love Your Locks

But I want her hair!

You know what they say — you want what you can’t have. You’re born with blonde hair, you want brunette. You were blessed with curls, you want pin-straight strands. But little do you know, someone else is dying for your hair. So love those luscious locks and work with what your mama gave ya.

I hated my hair for years. My tightly spun curls were frizzy, undefined, and unmanageable. So I woke up at 4:30 every morning before school to whip out my straightener and make them disappear. To me, it was worth it. No one had to see how heinous I looked with my hippie-esque afro.

I even went so far as to get my hair chemically straightened. I sat in the salon chair for three hours, getting whiffs of formaldehyde and other toxic chemicals as they seeped into my strands. But as soon as the products were washed out, and my ‘do was blown out, I couldn’t have been happier.

Until I had to chop six inches off of my hair because the procedure had turned my hair into thin coils of nothingness.

My hair was beyond repair. My hairdresser told me that I had to stop straightening it or it would never grow. I was dying for long tresses, so I listened – sort of. Whenever I wasn’t in public, I’d leave it curly. But it wasn’t until I lost a bet and had to wear my hair curly to school that I finally felt comfortable enough to rock them.

I was shocked at how receptive everyone was. I had people I’d hardly ever spoken to coming up to me, telling me how beautiful my hair was. Great. I’d been losing sleep to hide behind straight hair when I could’ve avoided it all and just dealt with what I had.

So, curly it was. From that day forward, I made a vow not to straighten it except for the rare occasion. And I’ve stuck by it. My hair is now a part of my personality and it makes a big enough statement that people are able to easily remember me. And yours may have the same effect.

Learn to love your locks first by learning how to work with them. If you have impossibly curly hair like I do, you’ll quickly learn that taking a blow-dryer to it is a bad idea. Air drying without product is as well. Test-try products on the weekends or when you have nothing to do and see how your hair reacts to it. Expensive products usually work great but start out cheap and work your way up once you’re used to your hair’s behavior.

Don’t forget to have fun with it, either. Yeah, my hair is large. So instead of trying to flatten it, I add volume. If your hair is the opposite, throw some accessories in it to make a statement. It’s not a matter of changing what you have, it’s a matter of embracing it and adding to it.

Talk to professionals, too. I never would’ve known the products to test or shampoos to use if I hadn’t talked to all sorts of different hair stylists. Chances are, they’ve worked with someone that has had hair like you and can lead you in the right direction.

No matter the style, the color, the length, or the texture, your hair is manageable. And somewhere, someone would give anything to have it. Don’t let them down – work what you’re lucky enough to have. Find the good in the bad and I promise, the strands will fall perfectly in place from there.

♥AUTHOR: CHELSEA TIRRELL

This entry was posted in BEAUTY, CHELSEAT. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love Your Locks

  1. flowerchildinthecity says:

    I LOVE this. Every time I think about coloring my hair (which is naturally blonde) I stop and consider how many people kill their hair with bleach to make it look like mine. I'm ALSO trying to grow mine out, so I rarely do anything to do. Air dry & go.

    Rock your look, I'm sure it's beautiful!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I can totally relate to this! My hair is a natural frizz ball, but I gotta learn to love it 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    Ahahaha, yes, this the story of my life. Though a style secret– buy some jojoba or coconut oil. Coconut oil is special because it will penetrate to the core of the hair shaft and condition your hair, joboba mimics the natural oils you produce… put some on the hands and lightly! run it down the length when it is wet, and that takes care of the product need… nice, soft, managable hair that still has beautiful curls without being weighed down by gunk.

Leave a Reply

