Finding Your Love Language

What’s your love language?

Has your love tank been filled lately? Or is it time you got yourself to the station before you start running on fumes? Furthermore, are you offering love to others in the way they need to be loved? Find out the Five Languages—what kind of love you like best and how best to love others, based on Dr. Gary Chapman’s New York Times bestselling book.

Just as there are different languages all throughout the world, there are different ways to express love. While each dialect is special in its own way, love can get lost in translation if we don’t take the time to understand each other. That’s why Dr. Gary Chapman identified the five Love Languages: Words of Affirmation, Physical Touch, Gifts, Acts of Service, and Quality Time. Most couples don’t speak the same language so it’s important that you learn to be fluent in more than just your native tongue.

Before I continue on, I encourage you to take the Love Languages test to find out your special style. The test says that it is for “wives” but never fear, this applies to all girls no matter where you are in life. We all need love — with a rock or not.

You can take the test here.

Now that you know your flavor of love, here is how you can love others in the way that they would like to be loved — whether the person is your boyfriend, gal pal, or fellow employee. The rules apply for everyone!

Words of Affirmation: These people love compliments, nice notes, and general words of well wishing. Whether it comes naturally to you or not, these suckers for sentimentality needs positive reinforcement whether it is on paper or in person. Tell them how much they mean to you and see how it makes their day.

Physical Touch: We all know the huggers and hand-holders. Not that you have to get a warrant from the PDA police or anything, but giving a good cuddle or a kiss is great (if you have romantic relations with the person—not a gesture I recommend with your friends). Find your inner tree hugger and get hugging.

Gifts: Who doesn’t love a present every now and then? If you eye-spy something that reminds you of a special person in your life, then go ahead and make the buy if you can afford it. The best part is if you surprise the person — put the package someplace unexpected and you’ll get a guaranteed payback.

Acts of Service: This works wonders with moms and dads. Helping out with the laundry or dishes (without being asked) can truly make them feel loved. Giving someone free time, especially for busy parents, is the ultimate gift of love.

Quality Time: It doesn’t matter if you’re driving in the car for hours or going to a baseball game, these people love to make their moments matter. So when you’re tempted to tune out your friend to watch TV or you’d rather take a nap than go out for the night, think again. You’re bound to have more fun when you make your time count — especially when it’s for someone who counts.

Best of luck loving and being loved in return!

Keep shining!


See the Sunny Girl daily here!
Follow the Sunny Girl on Twitter here.
This entry was posted in LAURENC, LOVE. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Your Love Language

  1. Amy says:

    This is a great book and he wrote one just for singles and people who are dating. Not just for married couples, or even romantic relationships.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s